Time

On Aging Gracefully

Hahahahahahahahaha

Sterling Page
3 min readJun 14, 2021

--

Photo by Kama Tulkibayeva on Unsplash

A friend asked me the other day if I’d like to be 25 again. I laughed. Um, hell no, I don’t want to be 25 again, you couldn’t pay me enough money in the world.

I would, however, like to look 25 again.

I want to live forever. Twenty-five was just the first bump in the road to greatness. I flew past that milestone and then jumped right into 40 as gracefully as a robin landing on the high line wire next to a squirrel.

Next was 50, and then 55, and now, 57, when my body fell apart. But not to worry, I have good doctors who put me back together, so maybe I will live forever.

“Nature gives you the face you have at twenty; it is up to you to merit the face you have at fifty.” Coco Chanel

Why do women worry about aging? Why do we care? Do we accept society’s definition of beauty? Is time dumping on our shoulders? Are we letting other women (gasp! younger women?) judge the lines on our faces or the years on our bones or are we letting the sagacity of men determine our self worth?

It’s none of that. It begins and ends with us. We have the power to feel time in whatever way we’d like. So knock that shit off right now, ladies. Let…

--

--